Challenge #3

I always want to go. My feet, they itch for adventure, for the pavement of a new town, the dirt of a new country road. My mind is in a constant state of wondering where I may wander next. It creeps up on me—the discontentment. Like a sneaky sickness, I will be happy one minute, and then suddenly bogged with boredom, dislike, and disinterest in what I am doing, where I am living, who I am around. My heart, my interest, my curiosity springs away from whatever situation I am in, and lands somewhere else, allowing room for the restlessness to settle in. I think it is the routine that gets to me. Doing the same thing each day allows me time to wonder what else is out there, what I could be doing instead.

And I’ve been lucky—I’ve been able to get enough opportunities to go somewhere different when I feel that urge to experience something new. This next semester I will be moving to Poland and to my third college in two years. I have left some wonderful places with wonderful people. But it seems that this tendency I have is one that I am stuck with.

Challenge #3, January 3, 2011: Listen to the song Vienna by Billy Joel. Really listen to it, to the lyrics. Slow down, he tells us. You cannot do everything at once. Your ‘Vienna,” your success or your happiness or your purpose or your love—they will wait for you. You don’t need to pursue every goal right this second, ‘you can afford to lose a day or two.’ I need to be reminded of this from time to time; I need to remember to slow down. And maybe you do too. So listen to this song and remember to slow down, you crazy child, even if it is just for today.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xsEBGhbSKVc

I tried to post the song but I couldn’t quite figure out how to. So this link is to a YouTube video of Billy Joel performing Vienna.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Challenge #3

  1. Christa says:

    Nice challenge today! I’ve heard the song many times before, but as you requested I re-listened, read the lyrics, and really thought about what the song could mean to me. I don’t have the type of wanderlust you seem to, but I certainly know the feeling of now never feeling like it’s enough, dreaming of the next stage in life, the end of the road I’m on and where it might take me. Sometimes it really is good to slow down and look around you, reflecting on all you have and satisfy yourself with the simplicity of those things.

  2. Sy says:

    I’ve often said that “women’s issues” is a redundant phrase, but boy, you take it to a whole new level.

  3. cindersmuses says:

    I wonder what “women’s issues” has to do with anything?

    I wonder if her gravatar showed an image where her gender could not be defined if you’d be having this same reaction.

  4. loubyjo says:

    I have never had wondering feet and very rarely go anywhere as happy where i am but think i do opposite and procrasinate !!! and time just goes guess thats what makes the world so interesting our differences

Leave a Reply

