Challenge #4

Challenge #4, January 4, 2011: “Don’t take it personal,” my mom always says. ‘Rule number six’ she calls it (though there are no rules one through five). My mother lives her life by this rule, and it seems to do her well. So today, anytime anyone angers you, does something that hinders your progress or makes you stay late at work, cuts you off while driving, or hurts your feelings, follow rule number six—don’t take it personal.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Challenge #4

  1. Sy says:

    That’s what I always tell people who are offended by my blog (where you’ll find an indirect apology to you for yesterdayhttp://theaterwise.wordpress.com) Do you think that your mom could talk to some of them for me?
    I’m going to get out of character here for a moment and talk seriously, so treasure this.
    I didn’t have any of those experiences today, but I would like to offer up something else.
    Last October I had to pick up my mother’s birthday cake, and was concerned on the whole drive to the party that I would hit a bump and crack the icing. So I drove as carefully as I could and got some angry and annoyed stares for other drivers.
    So, one of the things I tell myself now when slow drivers annoy me is that maybe they are carrying their mothers birthday cake also.
    Don’t cry, because if you do, I will. Couldn’t help yourself could you? Gee thanks.

    • I like your serious talk, and your story (though I did refrain from shedding any tears). Maybe I’ll try to think of slow drivers as simply birthday cake transporters 🙂

      • Sy says:

        Thanks for replying, though I’m a little disappointed that you didn’t cry. Hey I’ve got an idea for a daily challenge, why don’t you ask people about the last time they cried or were affected by someone else’s tears or even better, ask them about the last time they viewed my blog.

  2. Stef says:

    Your mom’s “Rule #6” is like Rule #62: Don’t take yourself too damn seriously! Which you seem to adhere to quite well. 🙂

  3. tanvi says:

    I am already following this as a new yrs resolution…thnk u..u r doin jus grt !!

  4. tanvi says:

    I am already following this as a New Yrs Resolution…thnk u….This is great what u r doin !!!!

  5. Pitufina says:

    Hi!
    Good work you have going on here and I just added you to my reader so I can keep up with the challenges!
    Your Challenge # 4 is actually, agreement #2. There is a book (I don´t know if you´ve ever heard of it), called “The four agreements” written by Miguel Ruiz. And he exposes 4 agreements based on Toltecan wisdom under which we sould all live. It´s a very nice book and the 4 agreements are really simple things you can add to your life to live better and happier.
    Thanks for writing and inspiring!.
    Lina

    • Hey Lina!
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 I have never heard of that book, but if it shares the knowledge of rule #6 (or agreement #2), then it is probably pretty cool. I will check it out–thanks!

Leave a Reply

