Challenge #5

I had worked with a woman for nearly two years. Granted, we didn’t always work side by side, but we certainly completed many projects together. One day, while working at a parade, she asked me my name. I took an obvious glance at the glaring nametag on my chest and told her ‘Amelia.’ Half an hour later, she was trying to get my attention and had again forgotten my name. After giving her the you-should-remember-my-name-so-I’m-just-going-to-stand-here-and-stare-at-you look for a few seconds, I told her my name. Again. You would have thought that after working with me for two years, and being explicitly told twice, she might remember my name. Or at least have the smarts to check out the pearly silver nametag that displayed it proudly. But no. That entire day was filled with her being unable to remember my name. I was annoyed and a little insulted (that would have been a good day to apply rule #6). And I cannot, to this day, see her without remembering the way she could not remember my name.

In contrast, I worked at a cafeteria last week. It was a temp job; I was just filling in for a few days. A man recognized that I was new and asked me my name on the first day. From then on, each time that he saw me he said, ‘Hey Amelia!’ and asked how I was. That man, Jason, was only a part of my life for a week, but he put a smile on my face each time I saw him, simply because he took the time to remember my name.

Challenge #5, January 5, 2011: Make a very conscious effort to remember the name of anyone you meet today. Is it respectful and thoughtful to remember someone’s name, and certainly creates a good start to any new professional or personal relationship.

If you need some help, here’s an ehow article on remembering names:
http://www.ehow.com/how_4835719_remember-someones-name.html

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Challenge #5

  1. Sy says:

    I have struggled with this problem for years. I can never remember names. I have read other books about dealing with this problem, which included the strategies that you recommended, and none of them worked. I still forget people’s names within moments of hearing them.
    Then an incident happened that forced me into therapy, where I learned that I actually had a compound problem.
    I learned that I also had a problem with facial recognition, when I accidently hit on the babysitter, thinking she was my wife.
    I’m doing well in therapy. Just in case you were wondering.

    • Cindy N says:

      If this isn’t a serious problem as in the case of Sy (above), I would chalk it up to plain old self centered behavior on the part of your co-worker. Two years and she STILL didn’t know your name? Puleez. Yeah….enter Rule#6….she isn’t worth it. 🙂

  2. Sista Space says:

    You guys are hilarious! If nothing else I will come by for a good laugh and a smile. I love your sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

