Challenge #7

Last year I went to college in Washington. It was amazing. I couldn’t have asked for a better campus, a better town, a better job, a better roommate, better classes or better friends. But being the wandering soul that I am, a new idea crept into my mind in mid-July, about two months before I was supposed to go back to Washington. I wanted to play college soccer. So a couple emails and a few crazy coincidences (if you believe in those) later, I was offered a spot on a team and a scholarship by a coach that had never watched me play. It all happened extremely fast—I sent an email on a Monday, and by Wednesday was offered a position. On Thursday I visited the school, and by Friday I was back home. A week before that, I had no idea I may not return to Washington. A few days later, on a Sunday night, I decided I would move to Montana to play soccer. Preseason started four days later.

One issue with this move was the location of the majority of my things. I had stored all of my stuff in Washington over the summer, because that was much easier than bringing it all home. With four days to pack, I certainly did not have time to retrieve my belongings. Instead, I took all of my ‘low class stuff.’ By that, I just mean all of the things that I didn’t like enough to take to Washington. I brought my very old bedding, clothing I didn’t really like, kitchen things that should have been tossed years ago. Eventually I drove to Washington to get my things. My tiny dorm room then had two sets of everything. Wayyy too much stuff.

Eventually I moved home, where I dumped all of my things into my living room. I’ve been here a month and they have yet to be unpacked. Because my next move is across the world, where I am allowed only one suitcase and one backpack, I will have to learn to live with minimal stuff. I figure now is a good time to practice that.

Challenge #7, January 7, 2011: Throw something away. Give a few of your extra jackets to someone that might be cold, toss out one of the eight ladles that clutter your kitchen, throw away a pair of shoes that you never wear anymore. It is kind of a nice feeling to know that if I want, I can let go of anything I own. I think it is important to not be attached to things, and maybe by forcing ourselves to get rid of something, we will be able to detach, even if it is just a little bit.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Challenge #7

  1. Sy says:

    The real challenge today seems to be how long can we listen to you go on about relatively nothing. Geez, kid, punch up your writing style a little. If you need help, there are books out there for that, and if you get one, here’s a tip. “Hang on to it.”
    But enough about you.
    I met an eighty-eight year old man once whose wife had just divorced him. It seemed sad to me that at that age he was alone, but he was in good spirits and said, “she didn’t take my TV, and that’s all I care about.”
    So, you’re right and I agree. We should periodically seperate the clutter from the important things in our lives and if you have trouble deciding which is which, don’t worry. Life has a way of sorting that out for you.
    Do you think your mom could give us a challenge one of this days? Seriously!

  2. Stef says:

    My husband and I cleared out two car-fulls of stuff a week ago, and it felt really, really good. It is freeing when we are not defined by “stuff”.

  3. Judy B. says:

    My closet has a tendency to get messy …. let me re-phrase. I have a tendency to turn my closet into a dumping ground for everything that I have no idea where to put. Periodically, it will bother me more than usual, and I will do a two-day cleanse on it. Really, once I try to get it together, I’m THERE! It usually involves throwing out a lot of junk. When I am finished, and I stand there admiring the clean and the space and the simplicity, I realize how cathartic and even healing cleaning out and tossing stuff really can be!

Leave a Reply

