Challenge #9

Challenge # 9, January 9, 2011: I have tried and tried to figure out meditation. Every time I try to clear my mind, I find myself thinking about not thinking about anything. And then I fall asleep. Regardless, I think meditation (or even just the attempt at it) can be a wonderful, calming thing. Today, meditate for fifteen minutes. Or if you are like me, just sit in silence for a bit and ignore any stimulants from the world.

 

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Challenge #9

  1. Sy says:

    Once again, it’s late, I might try this tomorrow, but right now we have a 3year old running around so I don’t know if it will be possible to even have 15 mins of peace.
    So in case I don’t get back to you I can, at least, leave you with this joke.
    Do you know the one about the East Indian Guru who walked into a pizza place and said “Make me one with everything.”?

    • Sy says:

      I did do this, but I researched meditation first. I don’t know if my comments would be suitable for this page, so if you want to see them, you’ll have to view my blog.

  2. I absolutely cannot meditate in the formal or traditional way. But I find that while watching an orchestra play I am able to “go somewhere else” and find some quiet there. And in these moments, creativity flows like a wild river, so I always make sure to have a notebook on me.

  3. Stef says:

    I’m a daily meditator; here’s my meditation blog if you are interested: http://meditationmania.wordpress.com/

    How did your 15 minutes of meditation go?

    Stef

    • I’m not sure that I was able to quite classify it a meditation–but it was a definitely a break. I really do have a hard time seperating myself from my thoughts, but even just allowing myself some time to think in silence (which is what it ended up being) was wonderful. I plan on making many more attempts at meditation this year. I will definitely check out your blog!

  4. Svetkarin says:

    I’ve been getting acute insomnia so I meditate every night before going to sleep, sometimes it takes me tens of minutes because trying to clear my mind of thoughts is quite difficult. Anyway, I love your blog. The idea of one challenge a day is brilliant! 🙂

  5. Judy B. says:

    I am certainly not a meditation expert, but I do meditate and I find it so helpful for numerous aspects of my life. My daughter and I went to an 8-week meditation course together a couple of years ago, and I am so very glad we did. We were taught that when we are having a hard time settling in, and our minds are racing during meditation, just notice the thought. Don’t get disturbed about it. Just say, “Ahh. There’s a thought trying to distract me.” No analyzing. No fretting. Just noticing. Then return your attention to your breath. Try it. You may find it helpful.

    And, I will definitely be checking out the meditation blog mentioned above as well. This blogging stuff can become a full-time thing, huh?! HA!

Leave a comment