Challenge #14

I decided that I will try to continue posting as I take a break from my real life. Thanks for all the support, everyone 🙂

I’m visiting my old school right now, and for an entire year I lived within feet of all of these people. I saw them daily, almost hourly. And now I haven’t seen them in over six months. I hear that things are never the same after you’ve left and returned, but here…I feel like I never left. My exroomie’s roommate is gone this weekend, so I’m sitting on the bed that would have been mine, not allowing myself to say ‘what if’. Instead, I am able to appreciate how lucky I was to meet people that treat me like I never left. They say you meet your lifelong friends in college. I am sure that is true for some, and for some it isn’t. And whether I am friends with these people until I am eighty or until next year, I love them right now.

Challenge #14, January 14, 2011: Tonight, tell someone how much you appreciate them. I think that we get so concerned with ourselves that we sometimes forget how much our lives are affected positively by others. So whether it is someone you see every day, or the mailman whom you’ve never even met—let someone know that you appreciate what they do.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Challenge #14

  1. Stef says:

    Expressing gratitude is always a good idea. 🙂
    http://smilekiddo.wordpress.com/tag/gratitude/

  2. Sy says:

    http://theaterwise.wordpress.com/ Here it is Stef, but I have to tell you. I looked at your blog, and I think that you are much too nice of a person to want to get mixed up in my craziness. If you do take a peek, though, I would like to know what you think.
    and if you can’t find anything nice to say, even better.

    • Stef says:

      Thanks for the link, Sy. I’ve continued this conversation on your blog space (so as not to “pirate” this one). But thanks to Amelia and her blog space for serving as an introduction point! (Amongst many other things…) 🙂

Leave a Reply

