Challenge #15

I’m still sitting in this dorm—and there are two girls here that may or may not know I am present. I don’t really know the girls—they moved in this year. One just yelled to the other “I hate my hair! I know I’m my own worst critic, but I hate when the wind makes my hair look like this!”
The Washington Winds can certainly blow someone’s hair into a mess—but that is not the important part of this common tantrum. We truly are our own worst critics. To an extent, this is a good thing. It allows us to push ourselves farther that someone else may. Competition with the self can be the most intense. But it is important as well to recognize and appreciate yourself, to stop criticizing for a few moments.

Challenge #15, January 15, 2011: When you notice yourself being critical of yourself, telling yourself you could have done better or that you hate your hair/stomach/muscles/dimples, change your thinking. Give yourself a compliment. It doesn’t have to be about that thing you hate—I don’t want you to lie to yourself. Compliment yourself on something you really do love about yourself. Turn your attention to something positive, something you are proud of. And then remind yourself that someone out there loves you for those exact freckles that you hate.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Challenge #15

  1. Dear Amelia,
    I posted a comment about your blog and put your gravatar, too, here http://bibliostatuario.wordpress.com/2011/01/15/un-diario-on-line/ on my “little tiny library” blog: is it ok with you? (All sources are correctly cited.) I found your thoughts a good stimulus for an information-oveloaded generation – not only the young one… 😉 -, who seldom finds a little time to write and reflect.
    All the best!

  2. Stef says:

    This is a great challenge to read first thing in the morning – I’ll work to apply it all day long. Is there a self-critical comment you noticed that you were able to “catch”, then gently release? And what positive compliment followed?

  3. Sy says:

    I actually should not even be talking right now, but I don’t have the sense to shut up.
    This is definitely a gender-specific question. So I’m just going to sit back and watch the replys.

    • Jess says:

      I really don’t think it’s all that gender-specific. Men are much more critical of themselves than they let on. I know that most males would prefer that we women go along thinking they’re emotionless, but, for the most part, we know better. Male anorexia and suicide are just as common (if not moreso) than that of females, and the reason is just what this blogger has stated: self-criticism. Men feel like they could be better providers or breadwinners, they could be more masculine, smarter, etc.

      • Sy says:

        Exactly, Jess, you women drive us to it, but wait a minute, male anorexia? I’ve actually never heard of that. or even put those two words together in my mind, but since you brought it up, you reminded me of something.
        I’m going to inject a little stark reality here, hope noone minds (true story)
        I was with a friend of mine who is a recovered herion addict. We were at an amusement park and I saw an ematiated woman in a tank top. I pointed this woman out to my friend, who is also a woman.
        My friend looked at her and said to me, you know what’s funny, there was a time in my life when I would have died to have her veins.

  4. Pingback: Ain’t Nothin’

Leave a Reply

