Challenge #19

It is super late at night and I just got home. I’m exhausted, but I figured I should post tomorrow’s challenge tonight because I will probably spend most of tomorrow sleeping. (Ah, the life of a college kid on an extended break.)

Challenge #19, January 19, 2011: Do something creative or artistic today. I find that when I allow myself to be fully engaged in something creative (usually painting), I get totally lost. I can spend hours on a painting, barely thinking about anything else in my life. That can be a bad thing when you spend hours and hours in the art room instead of studying, justifying it as ‘homework’ since the paintings will be turned in for a grade. But in general, I think being creative is a type of cleanse—it opens the mind up for ideas, thoughts, emotions. So give yourself some extra time to be creative today, and see what travels into your mindspace.

Also, if you are not getting email updates about this blog and would like to, you can use the subscribe tool on the right hand side of the blog. Or, if you have already subscribed, you can go to ‘my subscriptions’ in your dashboard and choose to have email updates sent.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Challenge #19

  1. rochelle0704 says:

    So young and so insightful, you are a blessing. Today’s challenge was just what I needed. From one creative being to another, it is time for me to let the creative juices flow.

    It sounds like maintaining this blog in its self is a bit of challenge for you, so my words of wisdom are:

    be kind to your self by pushing yourself………. but not to hard
    “do what you can with what you have where you are” -T. Roosevelt
    and DON’T quit — you are making a difference

    Thank you

  2. Hunter says:

    This is a cool idea. I love doing creative stuff and making things. Thanks 😀

  3. Thank you for that nice comment Rochelle! I hope your creative juices led you somewhere fantastic! Maintaining this blog this weekend was certainly a challenge, but things have settled down a bit, so things should get a bit easier 🙂 Thank you for the words of wisdom, they are very appreciated!

  4. Stef says:

    Writing is actually one of my favorite forms of creative expression. I’m not “tradionally” artistically inclined (think drawing, painting, sculpting, etc.). However, recently I learned about making digital scrapbooks, and this evening I gave one to my husband for his birthday. So, again, interesting that I’m in synch with you. 🙂 Cool.

    • Stef,
      Tell you husband happy birthday! Unless that is creepy coming from an internet stranger. In that case, I’ll just send some good energy his way. Haha. Crazy, though, how in sync we seem to be!

      • Stef says:

        No, not creepy, just fun. I will absolutely send him your birthday wishes; and feel free to send him positive mojo, too. 🙂

  5. sy says:

    Well, tell him that the “head” wished him a happy birthday too. now it’s creepy.

Leave a Reply

