Challenge #22

Wow, I can’t believe I’ve already posted 22 challenges. Crazy!

I have a friend who gets pretty bad mood swings. Lately, she’s been on a downward one. As a friend of over 10 years (more than half my life!), I know that it is at least partially  my job to be there for her. I listen to her cry; I listen to her complain; I listen to her sit and be mopey. Occasionally, I get so frustrated, I want to shake all the gloom right out of her. Physically shaking her probably won’t work–but I think maybe a few words will. She knows what is making her sad, yet she is terrified to make any changes. She is an amazing person with a fear of pushing her limits, of fulfilling her passions.

Challenge #22, January 22, 2011: Occasionally telling someone something can be excruciating, as it may mean hurting them. But I have found in my short 19 years, that sometimes people need a little verbal slap. I’m not asking you to be mean, but today, tell someone something that they need to hear. You might be doing them a favor.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Challenge #22

  1. I just saw today’s Postaday2011 topic–interesting that it is kind of similar to this.

  2. Sy says:

    Let’s see, you started your dialogue with “crazy” and ended with “passions,” and, boy, does the combination of those two words ever fuel my thoughts. as for the challenge today, I already do that, so for today I’ll just keep quiet.

  3. Stef says:

    “Tough love” is sometimes the best answer to a difficult question. I employ this method when the person, time, and situation are all appropriate – *and* so long as my motives are “pure” (i.e., my intention is truly one of care and compassion, not frustration or irritation). If my motives aren’t “clean”, I don’t get to start down a ‘tough love’ path – because then I don’t know if I’m acting out of my own selfish place, or with the welfare of the other person truly in mind.

  4. Sometimes we need to hear what we don’t want to hear.

  5. Judy B. says:

    Ahhhhh … you speak of the difficult conversation. They are never easy for anybody, and for some, they are the hardest of the hard. There are a lot more people who are afraid to push their limits and fulfill their passions than most people realize. They are usually so strong and together in other aspects of their lives that it is hard to believe that they are so frightened of that particular change. But, change and fear are funny things that oftentimes defy reason. And, once a person pushes through the fear and makes the change, oftentimes, the first thing that comes out of their mouth is “I can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner.”

    I guess our job with folks who are fearing change is to be as supportive of them as we possibly can while gently trying to get them to jump off the cliff. You can’t soar until you jump off the cliff.

  6. Nilwona says:

    Hi, just want to say good job with keeping up with the post a day challenge. I’m doing it, too, and it’s hard to keep up sometimes. I just heard about your blog in a post on Kioko Dawson’s “The Cliff Notes Version,” and I like what you’re doing. Good luck with sticking with the daily posts!

  7. Kioko says:

    This is a bold challenge and a difficult one! I’m afraid that, with some of my friends, my verbal slap may be answered with a literal one.

Leave a Reply

