Challenge #24

A friend once told me that I was an ‘achiever.’ Not an over-achiever, he told me, just an achiever. I knew exactly how much I needed to do to be successful, and that was how much I did. Nothing more and certainly nothing less. In high school, this earned me very good grades and a very poor attendance record. I think I was a bit self-righteous. I knew I could get good grades without attending class; I knew I could study for an hour and pass any test; I knew I could whip out an essay a few hours before it was due and still do well. I felt like I was already smarter than the teachers, like they couldn’t teach me anything I couldn’t learn from the book in half the time. But I never even gave them the chance to teach me. I certainly learned all about trigonometry and the civil war. But I thought I was better, smarter, more clever than the educational system, and now  I will never know what I may have learned about life had I given my teachers a chance to teach.

Challenge #24, January 24, 2011: Don’t allow your pride or your arrogance to stop you from learning today. The bum on the street corner may not be equal to you in net worth, but maybe he makes up for it in wisdom. Your knowledge of your profession may far surpass your intern’s, but maybe she can give you a lesson on how to treat people. Today, don’t let your self-proclaimed superiority prohibit you from letting others teach you.

 

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Challenge #24

  1. Christine says:

    I wish everyone looked at life this way….we all have something to learn AND something we can teach others. Too many people forget that!

  2. That’s something I’m struggling with as well. Thank you for this, really made me think. 🙂

  3. Stef says:

    I have experienced this time and again, especially in my meditation and my yoga practices, classes, and sessions. Buddhism calls it “Beginners Mind”; and it’s what I try to cultivate in my life. Some days I’m more successful than others. 🙂 Thank you for the reminder!

  4. sy says:

    Normally I don’t let the cleaning people at work even make eye contact with me, but today I took your advice and I actually let one touch me. OK, I slept with her.
    Not really just a joke, but I have a saying, Stef read it on my blog. “The most worthless person in the room is the one who thinks they have the only valid point of view,” but I actually just thought of another way to put that same thought “You have to be pretty stupid, to think that you know everything.” I think that sums it up pretty well.

  5. Huntnqt says:

    A little saying I read about a year ago. “If you think you are green, you’ll grow. If you think you are ripe, you’ll rot.” I can’t remember who wrote it but it reminds me of your challenge.

  6. Pingback: Sunday Summary from my Blog Buddies « Walk A Mile In My Shoes

Leave a Reply

