Challenge #25

Perhaps you recall yesterday, when I said I rarely went to class in high school. It is this unfortunate habit’s fault that I have very few intellectually challenging memories. Emerson’s Self-Reliance, though, is the one thing I can remember being enamored by. It was assigned as homework one night, and talked about for an hour the next day. I assume that it was then forgotten by most. I wished we had spent a week discussing it, rereading it, dissecting it. I began reading it again tonight and was instantly reminded of why it struck me as it did. It is as though every other idea stabs me in the chest—telling me I’m doing things wrong, that my notions and ideas and actions are foolish. But following each chest-piercing paragraph comes some reassurance, a band-aid, Emerson’s words explaining my exact thoughts much more eloquently than I ever could.

Challenge #25, January 25, 2011: Today read something that gives you goosebumps, that makes your stomach tighten and your mind wander. Read something that touches your heartstrings, that gives you emotions, that connects you with the farfaraway author in a way that only words can.

 

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Challenge #25

  1. Sy says:

    Not today, no time to read, but about 2 yrs ago I read the true story that inspired the classic tale “Moby Dick.”
    It was a horrific story that involved starvation (which the author discribes the effects in detail) and cannibalism at sea.
    All of which would have been avoided if not for one bad management decision, that doomed nearly the entire crew.
    I don’t remember the name of the book, however, someone leant it to me. sorry.

  2. Stef says:

    It’s amazing how powerful a well-written text can be; especially one that is truthful, yet still reverent, yet still unapologetic for its honesty. I subscribe to a magazine where I receive a daily email; and though the notes are literally only 1 paragraph long, they give me a powerful message to reflect on nearly every single day. It is a truly great.

Leave a Reply

