Challenge #34

In one sense, I am an extremely logical person. I look at almost every situation I am in through a cause and effect, one plus one equals two, type of lens. I figure people out; I recognize motives and reasons and reactions. Even when I am emotional, I am able to recognize and tell myself that I’m overacting, that my emotions are not logical.

Tomorrow I move to Poland for at least 6 months.

My logical side tells me to be nervous. There is so much to be nervous for—language barrier, social life, finding my dorm, getting on a flight from Chicago after the 3rd worst storm in the city’s history. But my intuition says it’ll all be fine. I haven’t been nervous throughout the whole process, and I am not nervous tonight. I’ve moved before. I’ve lived where I knew no one and been better than fine. I thrive in these situations; I get my energy from the change and the shock and the newness of everything. So yes, there are plenty of logistical things that need to be taken seriously and could go very wrong. But I’m going to trust my intuition. I’ve got my ducks in a row and everything will work itself out. I wish I could pass these thoughts on to my mom…

Challenge #34, February 3, 2011: Today, trust your intuition–I’m sure it has a lot to tell you. Make decisions with your heart today, rely on your emotional side and take a break from being logical all the time.

 

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Challenge #34

  1. Wow! Hope you have a safe flight and good luck in Poland!

  2. Sy says:

    I’m going to disagree on principle with this challenge. I never think that this is good idea. Then why comment. because I’ve been busy lately, but still want to contribute.
    i’m going to take a look back, now and see what i’ve missed.

    • Stef says:

      Sy, I disagree; I think if I am willing to listen *honestly* to what is going on inside of me, I can learn much. While I like to think my mind can craft all the answers, in reality a lot of the truthful answers are held in my chest, my stomach – places I know through feeling versus thinking.

      Just another person’s POV. 🙂

  3. sy says:

    I don’t disagree with you Stef, but I don’t understand intuition and I don’t understand emotions, so if I trust in them I’m taking a chance. Facts don’t lie. I may have to trust intuition if I have to make a decision before I can get all of the facts, but I don’t like to do that, especially if someone besides me will be affected by the outcome.
    and I hope I’m not sounding too serious. every decision is not life or death all I’m saying is: Intuition? ………hmmm, maybe when I’m picking lottery numbers, otherwise only as a last resort.

    • Stef says:

      Ah, I get where you are coming from; thank you for taking the time to talk through your thoughts with me. But – are you sure that facts don’t lie? In the business world, I can manipulate data to arrive at the conclusion I want to support…. yet all of my evidence is “factual” (i.e., I didn’t make any of it up, I didn’t stretch the truth at all).

      And yes, I agree – not every decision is of the utmost importance, and/or requires a high level of rigor; but still, I think there is room for some intuitive knowledge blended with hard data. 😉

    • It seems to me that intuition carries a much bigger risk with it, but often a bigger reward as well. Logic seems more absolute, less risky. I would say that in some instances it is much better to take what you know, to use logic. But in other instances, the risk of using intuition can be an awesome thing.

      I got hundreds of college pamphlets and most I just tossed away. But I randomly used one as a bookmark, and then when really trying to find a college, I found that bookmark. I begged my mom to drive me there (in northern Washington) because I just had a feeling that I should. Turned out I loved it. Logically, there was no reason to think that school would have been any better than any of the others i visited–but I just felt like i needed to see i.

Leave a Reply

