Challenge #50

Challenge #50, February 20, 2011: Back when I went to Catholic school, I had a friend that gave up using her pillow for Lent. She claimed that it was an extra, something unnecessary. I usually have about six pillows on my bed–I love being surrounded by the puffy, soft comfort that they bring. Tonight, try sleeping without a pillow.

 

I was hanging out with a Hungarian friend today, and neither of us could seem to speak English. It makes more sense for her, since it is her second language–but both of us were struggling hard to find words to express anything. Maybe it was the bitter cold that did it. This blog absolutely reflects my inability to deal with words today–sorry about that.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenge #50

  1. Stef says:

    When I was a kid, I went through a “phase” (of about 10 years) when I slept without a pillow. 8-18. Then I went to college, where my bed was like a rock, and I needed something to protect my head – and the pillow re-entered my life. Now that I’m “old”, I use a special neck-supporting pillow to prevent problems in my shoulders. My, how times change…

  2. marsanne howard says:

    That is so funny about you and your Hungarian friend. Did you guys laugh about your inability to talk? I am not giving up my pillow…but I will say a prayer for you before I fall asleep:)

Leave a Reply

