Challenges #53, #54

I started this blog because I wanted to remember the wonder and potential that each day holds. I didn’t want any day to be wasted, and I felt like if I challenged myself to something everyday, as long as I attempted to complete that challenge, I couldn’t waste a day.

Yesterday I didn’t post a challenge, mostly because I was really busy and kind of forgot. But I ended up having a wonderful, enlightening, and amazing conversation with someone that popped into my life two days ago. I woke up this morning feeling refreshed and excited about life, ready to appreciate everything about today. And that was all on just about 3 hours of sleep.

Part of me feels bad that I didn’t post a challenge, but the other part of me feels like I absolutely accomplished my goal in appreciating the world yesterday, even without a challenge—so maybe it is ok that I didn’t post one.

Challenge #53, February 23, 2011: Oops 🙂

Challenge #54, February 24, 2011: Today, if you are feeling guilty about something—let it  go. Guilt is a terrible feeling, clawing at your heart and your mind. Sometimes it takes an apology or other action to release guilt, so apologize or confront or explain. Whatever it takes, let go of any guilt in your heard.

 

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Challenges #53, #54

  1. Yvonne says:

    You’re so right, guilt is like a heavy weight that takes away from enjoying life.

  2. Sy says:

    what is guilt?

  3. marsanne howard says:

    I like what you wrote and am anxious to hear about this conversation.

  4. Stef says:

    I especially like your callout that sometimes action is required to release guilt; sometimes guilt *is* justified/merited, and it’s our sign/signal to do what we can to remedy some past harm or hurt we have caused.

    But equally important is the need to remedy some past harm or hurt we may have caused ourselves>/i>; i.e., to forgive oneself, and move forward. To let go of guilt.

  5. sy says:

    maybe we only have a difference in perspective. I’ve been fortunate that I’ve never had to act out of desperation and I have compassion for people who have been pushed beyond their limits, because we all have them.
    but what are we talking about here? hurting people’s feelings? If I was callous or indifferent towards you, then hurt mine back, tell me what you think of me. I might not like it, but I’m intelligent enough to know that I deserve the treatment and I’m not going to feel guilty about it. I knew what I was doing.
    to hear my wife tell it, I can be downright mean to people sometimes. I think I only try to treat people in kind and I prefer doing that over her method, which is to hug everyone and tell them that she loves them, just to keep the peace, whether it’s sincere or not.
    If I did that, then, I would feel guilty.

    • Sy,
      Who is this a response to? I don’t think anyone said anything directed at you… perhaps I am wrong?

      • sy says:

        see what I mean, and I wasn’t even trying to sound mean or angry only sensible. I was only trying to understand this guilt thing. are we just talking about hurting people’s feelings? because I will never feel guilty about that, because if all we ever try to do is keep everyone within their own comfort zones, then how do we grow and learn to be accepting and tolerant of each other? people are not the same.
        I hope this sounded better.

      • Stef says:

        For me, if I have guilt, it’s not because I hurt someone, it’s because I intended to hurt someone. If I do something out of an honest place, and someone gets hurt, I will apologize (assuming they let me know how they feel), but I won’t feel ‘guilty’ about it. However, if I do something out of a mean-spirited or malicious place, and even if no one gets hurt, I *will* feel guilty about it. It’s not about the other person’s response (necessarily), it’s about *my* intention in the action. Make sense?

  6. sy says:

    you know what? let me put that another way. That’s why I loved Seinfeld, they never pulled punches. they always told each other exactly what they thought, and it worked.

Leave a Reply

