Challenge #55

Challenge #55, February 25, 2011: Listen to some music that you don’t normally listen to tonight. Try to expand your auditory palate. Try classical or jazz or screamo. Try to find something in it to appreciate, perhaps a voice or a melody or the ability to scream for minutes at a time. It may not be something you understand or enjoy listening to, but having this ability–to appreciate something where perhaps understanding is lacking–is so important in life. Take a small step in getting there by listening to and appreciating something new.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenge #55

  1. marsanne howard says:

    I love this challenge Amelia…for the music, but mostly for the practice of appreciating that there is something to appreciate in something that you don’t understand…a sport, a movie, music, a person, a political view, on and on. And then to keep one’s mouth shut when we don’t really understand how someone can watch, listen, eat, do this or that, just because it is not part of our preferences. I am working on that one the rest of my life. And you have permission to call me on it when I fall short! Love you!

Leave a Reply

