Challenge #66

Challenge #66, March 8, 2011: On the streets today, men were handing out flowers to all the women that walked past. Unknown by me, March 8th has been named International Women’s Day. It is a day to celebrate and inspire women, their achievements, and their continual growth.

Today, give a little thought to the great achievements of women. Also, acknowledge and appreciate the hardworking women you come across (and even those that aren’t quite as hard working).

http://www.internationalwomensday.com/about.asp

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Challenge #66

  1. Wow, this is the first I have heard of an International Women’s Day! Too bad this day is not more widely celebrated and acknowledged.
    As part of the challenge you are giving, I will say that I appreciate reading the challenges on your blog. Keep up the good work!

  2. Thanks Sharon! I’ve been neglecting the blog a little bit, but I think I’m beginning to get back into the swing of things.

    I had never heard of Women’s Day either! Apparently here in Europe it is a pretty big deal. There was a huge march in Warsaw on Sunday and I assume it was for this cause. Hopefully soon it will spread into the United States!

  3. Stef says:

    I, too, had no idea such a day existed. Yet without a woman in our life, none of us would be here – literally. Thanks mom! 🙂

  4. Sy says:

    this is a good opportunity for me to acknowledge the women bloggers I’ve met or enjoyed reading. first is psychodoodle for always being the voice of reason and for her refreshingly brutal honesty, next is you Stef, for ur smiles, and Challenge for her challenges, after you guys comes listfulthinking for her humor, I mean too funny, u have to check her out if you haven’t already, then aboutchicksbyachick, pissedoffbitch (even though u scare me a little) and also newroyality (I know I upset u, join the club, I still wish u well)
    so just keep talking, girls (like u need me to tell you) you have a lot that’s worth saying

Leave a Reply

