Challenges #68-71

Challenge #68, Thursday, March 10, 2011: Ah, there was no internet today. Oh well.

Challenge #69, Friday, March 11, 2011: When I lived in Washington, there was such an intense pressure to recycle. I wouldn’t even think about throwing a bottle away. If someone saw me do it, I would have been yelled at. But here in Poland, I don’t think I’ve seen a single recycle bin. Today, my challenge is to find a recycle bin. And yours is to do the same—if you are a habitual recycler, continue on your ways. But if not, don’t throw away anything that could be recycled or reused.

Challenge #70, Saturday, March 12, 2011: Often the hardest things to do are also the most important. Today, do something that is hard. Watch a movie that may strike a nerve that needs to be struck or read an article about something you perhaps would rather ignore. Give something the attention it deserves, even if it may be tough for you.

Challenge #71, Sunday, March 13, 2011: Eat healthy today—your body will thank you.

 

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Challenges #68-71

  1. Stef says:

    #69: Before I met my husband, I was a “casual” recycler – if I thought about it, I did it; but if I didn’t, oh well. My husband was much more socially responsible/conscious than I, and has since taught me/trained me to recycle (and to care about other social issues). I’m pleased to report that I now am a consistent, I’ve-made-it-a-priority recycler. 🙂

  2. I did Saturday’s challenge early…..Nothing really glamorous, though.
    I changed a toilet seat out for the first time, LOL. Ah, married life! Doesn’t seem hard…but it took me forever to get the dumb thing unscrewed and re-screwed….probably cause I am very much a girly girl.

  3. Stef says:

    Challenge #70: I did something pretty difficult today: I put someone else’s desires ahead of my own. (Not in a co-dependent kind of way, but in a “don’t-be-a-selfish-wench” kind of a way.) Not doing exactly what *I* want to do all of the time can indeed be difficult; yet sometimes it’s the very best thing to do. Today it was; and I’m glad I got out of my own way to let it happen. 🙂

    • Sy says:

      stef, you’re really starting to intrigue me,(your reply to challenge #70) but that’s ok, i’m not asking.
      do something difficult? for me that’s about everything.
      ok, I watched about the last 30 mins of “eclipse.” How can movies with so much cool stuff in them be so lame?

  4. Stef says:

    #71: This one is easy for me – I eat pretty darn well every day. (I feel too crappy if I don’t.) And today I have yoga as well, so double-bonus! 🙂

  5. Sy says:

    stef, i clicked the link, thanks for your evaluation of the corn dish, because when I saw it I thought it would be perfect for a party this weekend, but now, not so much, but check this out. my wife subscribed to Rachel Ray Everyday mag and I’m looking at these things and they’re insane. one has 156 pages, but 315 recipes and tips. the next one 152 pages but 365 recipes & tips, the next one 146 pages and 279 “no stress” recipes and tips. heck, I’m stressin’ just looking at the covers.

    • Stef says:

      Sy, again, I laughed. I know exactly what you mean. For Christmas I received a gift subscription to “Real Simple” magazine; and each issue is over 200 pages. Can anyone say oxymoron? 😉

Leave a Reply

