Challenge #75

Some people’s stress has no effect on me. They can stress all they want, and it wont change my mood. But when certain people stress, they just have an overpowering energy that eats away at me. A girl that I hang out with a good amount is like that–when she is happy, she gives off a wonderful energy. But when she is confused or frustrated or stressed out, I can hardly stand to be around her.

Challenge #75, March 17, 2011: Today, don’t let others’ energies affect you. If someone is upset or angry or stressed out, make sure to detach yourself from them–don’t allow their negativity to affect you.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Challenge #75

  1. Stef says:

    Interesting – I unknowingly did this today. I was in the grocery store, and both the person in front of me in line and the cashier were super-irritated and grumpy and sullen. I noticed their mood, but didn’t allow it to change my day; instead, I greeted them each with a smile. πŸ™‚

  2. I have this problem but mainly with my hubby. It’s really hard with your spouse when they are in a bad mood, to not let it affect you at all. You can go in another room sometimes but it’s definitely harder. I struggle especially because of my husband being bi-polar. Whenever he gets in a depressive mood, it tends to make me feel down. I try to fight it, but it’s not easy, so this is something I DEFINITELY have to work on.

  3. sy says:

    Sometimes people are upset and just waiting for someone to say something so that they can vent. so when strangers are rude to me, who knows what might be going on with them. I just happened to walk into the line of fire, so, that’s not hard to walk away from, unless I just happen to be in a bad mood myself.
    With people who are close to you, however, and by people, I mean my wife, and know how to push your buttons and aren’t satisfied until they get you going it’s not that easy. Today, fortunately no issues.
    One personality trait I cannot deal with, and if anyone has suggestions, I’d like to hear them, are whistlers, you know, people who just walk around whistling.
    To me, this is an agressive behavior that people should legally be allowed to defend themselves against.

    • I think that was my least favorite part of being in a relationship–when he was upset and I could not figure out how to detach myself from his emotions. Yuck.

      Perhaps if you take up whistling, you will no longer find it annoying? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

