Challenge #76

Challenge #76, March 18, 2011: I very rarely feel homesick. Of course I miss my mom to a crazy extent, and I miss my friends as well. But I almost never wish I was at home instead of where ever I am. But tonight, I’m about as homesick as I’ve ever been. So I am going to let myself be sad; I’m going to mope around in my feelings. My challenge to you is to do the same: Let yourself feel however you are feeling.

 

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Challenge #76

  1. Stef says:

    My preference is to feel whatever I am feeling; but in doing so, to also honestly realize that no single feeling lasts more than a few seconds. When I get really honest, I see that a lot of my “feelings” are actually thoughts generated by me; not true, raw feelings. The difference is slight in semantics, but vast in experience.

    • Stef,
      I think that this way of describing emotions is amazing. You are so right–the majority of our ‘feelings’ are generated by the things that we let take up space in our thoughts along with the perspective we look at them from. I suppose that is why ‘getting your mind off of it’ works. If you let something that makes you happy occupy your thoughts, you are much more likely to feel that happiness…

    • sy says:

      i liked your hair better last time, stef.

    • sy says:

      stef, i think that you have just very profoundly explained the basic difference between women and men, and I’m only saying that because i have no idea what you’re talking about, but I’m sure it makes sense and i’m glad that you figured it out so I didn’t have to

      • Stef says:

        Ah, now, if I just put what I’ve written into a short little book, give it a catchy title, and put a fun picture on the cover, I’ll make tons of cash! 😉

        Women are from Venus, you know…

  2. marsanne howard says:

    I just read this blog…I hate to think of you having been so sad. That is so rare for you it seems, but such a real part of our humanness. I think that I use the feeling of sadness to ground me and slow me down a little. For those of us that don’t suffer from real depression, sadness is a rich, useful feeling once in awhile. Thanks for asking about me this morning, “and how are you doing, Mom?” That made me feel really good and made me want to answer honestly, not just show my happy face. And you definitely made me feel better! I hope that made you feel better:) And there is a part of me that is warmed by knowing that you miss me…cause I really miss you!

Leave a Reply

