Challenge #98

Challenge 98, April 9, 2011: I am missing class to go on this trip, and I asked my literature teacher what he wanted me to do to make up the absence. He told me to ask a Ukrainian if they had heard of Kerouac, of if the Ukraine had its own version of ‘Road’ literature. I really wish that talking to random people came naturally and easy to me, because I think everyone has something important to say. I never know what I may miss out on by not beginning a conversation. Unfortunately, I am shy. So to talk to a random person is a little bit stressful–and to ask about an American author only adds to that. So today, strike up a conversation with a random person–you never know what you may lean.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Challenge #98

  1. Stef says:

    I’m a professional teacher, so I actually do this quite a lot for work – and that 13-year-habit-in-the-making now transfers into my personal life as well. I’m not shy, but I am an introvert, so I don’t always actively seek out conversations with others; but I have been delighted by some of the interactions and experiences I have had when I have simply remained open and curious enough to ask a sincere, genuine question. If something feels ‘forced’, I don’t do it; but if a question, comment, or compliment pops into my mind, I almost always share it – and am often ‘rewarded’ for my courage and kindness. I hope you find the experience to be a positive one. đŸ™‚

  2. sy says:

    Do you know enough Ukrainian to do this? I talk to strangers everyday in the course of my job, but chit-chat with random strangers not too much. Good luck with that, but however it works out you’re having some very worthwhile experiences.

    • Haha, no, I know no Ukrainian–though I have gotten better at reading the Ukrainian alphabet while being here. Fortunately, English is becoming a universal language. Ain’t it great being American? (said with a hint of honesty, a hint of shame, and a hint of sarcasm.)

  3. I can relate….I used to be incredibly shy but after doing Theatre in college, I am much more outgoing. I still get really nervous at times but for the most part, I am way different from how shy I was before. This weekend I talked to many strangers at the convention I was at so I did this challenge without even knowing it!

  4. marsanne howard says:

    When I want to act in a way that doesn’t come naturally to me, I channel someone I know that has that strength. Your Aunt Lynne Ann is great with strangers…she can strike up a conversation with them that would make you think she had known them for ages. pretend you are her when working on this. When I am in a big group and don’t know many people I pretend I am your Uncle Joe and just jump in with this really interested approach. When I am tired and working out, I channel Chris, when I am painting a wall I channel Becki, when I am in a funk…I channel you:) and I cheer right up!

Leave a Reply

