Challenge #123

Challenge #123, May 3, 2011: My mom keeps suggesting guest challenges, and I think it is a wonderful idea. So the challenge for today is to come up with your own challenge. Challenges with some sort of explanation or story or background are obviously more interesting, but I’m not too worried about that. I am sure that you all have wonderful, interesting, and important ideas, and I would like to hear them! 

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenge #123

  1. minnesotatransplant says:

    My mom, my 11-year-old nephew and I went for a walk on a recent Sunday afternoon, and he talked nonstop for the entire 3 miles. It was entertaining to see the world through an 11-year-old’s eyes. Among his topics was a book he read recently, and he proceeded to tell his grandmother and I the entire plot including character descriptions and twists. His monologue reminded me of the first time I met the boy who is now my stepson and how he enjoyed telling me every detail of a fantasy tale he just read. I so appreciate well-read kids. So, here’s your challenge: Create a reader and read to a kid today. Or, if you don’t have a kid handy, revisit a book you read as a kid and be inspired again. Bonus: When someone asks you if you’ve read any good books lately, behave like an 11-year-old and proceed to them every detail of “Where the Wild Things Are” or “Clifford the Big Red Dog.”

  2. Stef says:

    Amelia, very fun! Here are some ideas I have. If you want to use any of them, let me know and I’ll write a more thorough (yet still brief) story to go along with them. (I have a story for each one.) 🙂
    · Eat an early breakfast or a late dinner by candlelight
    · Go a day (or week) without spending any money
    · Go on a “media fast” for a day (or week)
    · Try a fruit or vegetable you’ve never had before
    · Meditate for five (or more) minutes
    · Try one new activity you’ve never done before (some suggestions: yoga, tai chi, belly dancing, qi gong, boxing, rock climbing…)

    I’m sure I can think of even more ideas, but here’s a few to start. 🙂

    Stef

Leave a Reply

