Challenge #127

This challenge is brought to us by MinnesotaTransplant. Check out here blog here, http://minnesotatransplant.wordpress.com. Thanks so much for the contribution!

Challenge #127, May 7, 2011: My mom, my 11-year-old nephew and I went for a walk on a recent Sunday afternoon, and he talked nonstop for the entire 3 miles. It was entertaining to see the world through an 11-year-old’s eyes. Among his topics was a book he read recently, and he proceeded to tell his grandmother and I the entire plot including character descriptions and twists. His monologue reminded me of the first time I met the boy who is now my stepson and how he enjoyed telling me every detail of a fantasy tale he just read. I so appreciate well-read kids. So, here’s your challenge: Create a reader and read to a kid today. Or, if you don’t have a kid handy, revisit a book you read as a kid and be inspired again. Bonus: When someone asks you if you’ve read any good books lately, behave like an 11-year-old and proceed to them every detail of “Where the Wild Things Are” or “Clifford the Big Red Dog.”

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenge #127

  1. Stef says:

    I volunteer in a second-grade classroom every Thursday morning, and for the first 30 minutes of my visit I sit with a few kids one-on-one and help them struggle through very simple books. It’s so easy for me to forget that reading is a skill, and a difficult one at that. Big cheers to all of those early-elementary teachers who create amazing readers!

Leave a Reply

