Challenge #146

Being lonely is terrible and sad and confusing. It is draining, even. But the thing is–as soon as we stop being lonely, I think we kind of forget what it is like. We forget the constant desire to have someone to talk to. We forget the way loneliness leads to bitterness and anger. We forget that so many people out there are lonely. And as selfish as this may sound, sometimes it is hard to not get annoyed when a lonely person picks you to combat their loneliness.

I am not much of a lonely soul. Of course I get lonesome, but in general I am just fine being on my own. In fact, I would often prefer it. And so when I can sense loneliness from someone, I sometimes find myself turning away from them–I don’t want the responsibility of anyone’s attachment. But that is selfish and unnecessary and may even end up causing me to hurt myself in the long run.

Challenge #146, May 26, 2011: Today, give the lonely person in your life a little bit of friendship. Maybe they need someone to have lunch with, someone to help them with a work problem, or simply someone to have a conversation with. A small sacrifice of a little slice of your day may make someone else’s day much better.

And for anyone that may be feeling a bit lonely, here are a few words that I love:

“To transform the emptiness of loneliness, to the fullness of aloneness. Ah, that is the secret of life. “                      – Sunita Khosla

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Challenge #146

  1. Stef says:

    I love the quote. So very true.

  2. sy says:

    Another thing that is so very true is that I don’t even understand what that quote means.

    • Stef says:

      So – you’ve either never felt the emptiness of loneliness, or the fullness of aloneness. I hope it’s the former. 🙂

  3. sy says:

    the loneliness thing I get, but the other one I’m guessing means something like just liking being with yourself. Am I warm?

    • Stef says:

      You’re warm. It’s more than just ‘liking’ yourself, or liking being with yourself; it’s more like…. how to describe…. Okay, here’s something that might make it more relateable:

      You know how you feel after you’ve had a terrifically fun romp in the sack with your wife? (Trying to keep it PG here…) That feeling of warmness, fullness, complete joy and calm and awesome and contendness and all that good stuff? That’s the “fullness of aloneness”. [And don’t take this conversation to the place where I know your little mind is going right now…] 😉

  4. sy says:

    I’m not going to say what you think. All I’m going to say is that I’d be lost if I didn’t have women to help explain life to me, and to wash the sheets.

Leave a Reply

