Challenge #191,#192,#193

Challenge #191, #192, July 10, 11, 2011: Ah, I’m so sorry. Traveled from Berlin to Dresden and from Dresden to Prague. No internet at the hostel in Dresden–but I did get to be at the stadium for the USA vs. Brazil game. I didn’t have a ticket, but I watched the game on a big screen outside the stadium. It was such an amazing game, and an amazing time. Now I’m in Prague, which is also great.

Anyways, here is a challenge from my mom:

I learned recently that the world class sprinters are able to let their facial muscles hang completely limp when they race so that no energy is wasted on the face while they compete. We all carry a lot of emotion in our faces that reflect and affect our moods, give us wrinkles, and contribute to headaches. I look much better with a big smile or look of serenity on my face, but how much more common is it for me to go through the day with a frown or scowl or look of disapproval. When I think about it I really can relax those muscles and I actually do feel my mood lighten. I can even go a step further and put my eyes in the smile-mode. How much nicer for me and the people that I talk to. If a sprinter can use facial control while running, I guess I can use some while schlepping around the store.

 

Challenge #193, July 12, 2011: Throughout the day, take  moments to be conscious of what expressions of stress your facial muscles may be holding. Let them relax and see how good that feels. It may affect your mood at that moment and it will certainly improve whatever interactions you are having at the time.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenge #191,#192,#193

  1. Stef says:

    It’s interesting, I have learned to let my jaw go very slack and loose and be nearly fully relaxed when I meditate each morning; and yet, at night I wake up multiple times to a TIGHTLY clenched jaw. (So much so that I’ve worn a mouth guard for the past many years to protect my teeth.) I guess it just goes to show that old habits die hard…

Leave a Reply

