Challenges #209-#212, And finally a new one: Challenge #213

Challenges #209-#212: Sorry folks!

Hello you lovely people. I’m home now, and have been for a few days. It has been crazy and stressful and wonderful and all that jazz. I’m bummed that I’ve been getting a little lax on posting. So I’m hoping that’ll stop as I get settled into Montana (where I’ll be on Saturday).

Late one night, as I was lying in the grass looking at the stars with my long time best friend, he began talking to me about a new approach he has had on life. He has decided to embrace everyone, regardless of their personality, habits, and actions. Everyone is just trying to live their life as well as they can, trying to make themselves happy, to find friends and succeed. People do it in different ways, he said, and sometimes those ways are annoying or mean or strange—but they are still people.

I find that there is a particular group of people that I tend to judge quite harshly—the giggly, pretend-to-be-dumb girls that love to scream and talk in a really high pitched voice. I really need to take a lesson from my friend—I need to embrace those screechy girls because truth be told, I’ve probably missed out on some friendships because of my judgmental attitude towards them.

Challenge #213, August 2, 2011: Embrace everyone. Accept people’s actions as simply them trying to do what is right for them. Don’t be annoyed by people, don’t be hurt, and don’t think you’re better than anyone. Just embrace every single person. And if there is a particular group of people that get on your nerves, work especially hard to accept them.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenges #209-#212, And finally a new one: Challenge #213

  1. Matt Gio says:

    I do this often. I am a judger. I judge. I like to lump people into categories and stereotype them. I believe this has taken me down a path of cynicism that I don’t care to venture.

    I agree. We should not judge, or care about who judges us. All that matter is what makes you happy. If you care about what other people think, you’ll be miserable. I know this for a FACT! I had an ex-girlfriend who was so insecure that she always thought my friends were secretly judging her. Whether they were or not, this prevented her from ever getting along with them and lead to our breakup (which turned out to be a blessing in disguise). However, that is no way to live.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Sy says:

    This is a good ideal. The way I like to put it is, don’t blame people for being who they are because you don’t know what might have happened to them to make them that way, at the same time though, watch out for yourself.

Leave a Reply

