Challenge #238

Hello friends!

After two weeks of 3-a-day practices, a wonderful (and terrifying) 20th birthday, a pretty cool limo ride, a roommate’s huge life crisis, and the beginning of a new semester, I’m back!!

I think it is easy for me to appreciate life when life includes new and constantly changing things. It is easy to find goodness in something that I am not used to, something that sparks my attention. And that is what this whole blog is about—a way to help find the beauty in every single day. But it is a lot harder, I’ve found, to appreciate a day I’ve lived before, a place I know, an experience I’ve already had. I’ve always known how easy it is for me to leave, but I never knew how hard it was to come back.

I’ve heard that different things give energy to different people. And I don’t mean coffee or Mtn. Dew. An example: some people get energized being around a big group of people, yet for others, that big group drains their energy. Within the last few weeks I’ve learned that doing something I’ve already done, being somewhere I’ve already been drains my energy—especially my positive energy. Maybe it is because I play soccer a thousand hours a day, but I find myself dragging. I don’t get excited to the things that excited me so much last year.

Challenge #238, August 26, 2011: Today, find something that boosts your energy, and do it. I know that painting, while a very calming thing, gives me a certain buzz. It makes me happy and makes me feel creative and proud. So I’m going to do it. Find something that gives you that buzz (preferably not vodka), and do it! In addition, if you know that something just pulls all your energy away, avoid it today. 

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenge #238

  1. Stef says:

    There *is* something to be said for learning how to deal with the “ordinary” – striving for new-new-new, exciting-exciting-exciting, is actually one way addictions are formed/reinforced…

    That being said, life is also all about balance; and experiencing things that are new/fun/engaging is also a part of the joy and delight in being alive. For me, yoga is absolutely one of the things that fills me with wonder, awe, and just happy feelings. (http://yogayearbook.wordpress.com/about-this-site/)

    But I also meditate, and sit with the ‘boring’ every morning; and in so doing, am learning A LOT about myself – including how to even find peace in the ‘mundane’ elements of life. (http://meditationmania.wordpress.com/)

    Just my $.02. 🙂

  2. Chris Howard says:

    This was really interesting writing…and so true. Time to myself is energizing for me in a general way. Negative attitudes are exhausting. I hope you have a good weekend. I love you! Mom

Leave a Reply

