Challenge #239

Today I’ve got a soccer game, which I am not going to start. Our last game was the only game in my collegiate career that I sat on the bench—and I absolutely hate it. I played almost the whole second half, but that is not enough. I want to start the game and end the game. Unfortunately, there are many factors beyond my control (and a few that are in my control, which I am certainly controlling) that have led to me not being one of the starting 11.

Challenge #239 August 27th, 2011: Today, be a team player. Worry more about what your team (whether that be family, work, or athletic team) needs, than what you want. Sometimes it is hard not to be selfish, or hope that things happen that will turn the winds in your favor. But today get rid of any of those hopes or thoughts. Support your team, do that is best for them.

About onechallengeaday

I am searching for nothing and absorbing everything. My eyes are open--I am wondering, I am wandering. I was made to run, to think, and to write. And that is what I plan to do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Challenge #239

  1. Stef says:

    It’s hard to put personal wants ahead of larger group needs. I did this last Friday (drove 8 hours to spend 30 minutes with my husband for an event he really wanted/needed me to be at), and I’m doing it again tonight (different situation, only a 3-hour time investment this time, but still….), and while it can be difficult to ‘gear up’ for and do, I’m never sorry I did it once it’s done. But man, it can be work getting to that place of being willing to really ‘show up’.

  2. Chris Howard says:

    I am very proud of you….that is such a good and difficult message. Even though you may have to fake it…you and your team really will benefit from your higher-self attitude. Not to mention that others on the team will see the good example you are setting and see it as an option they may not have thought of. You are wise for your years. I love you! and you can vent to me later if you need to. Mom

  3. engchick23 says:

    This is exactly what I needed to hear today. It’s been a rough, selfish morning, but I’ll try to make the last half of the day better. I may have to fake it, but I’ll make it work. Thanks for the challenge! 🙂

Leave a Reply

